How many times have you heard the phrase „life is now“?

What have you done about it?

The strange thing about people is that they somehow bealive that they will live forever. They sure act that they will! How do I mean, you ask? It`s simple – how many times lately, now be honest, have you refused to go somewhere, to do something, for stupid reasons like your favorite show on the tv, cleaning of your house, or for some deeper issues like fear or shame of something?

I don`t how about you but my guiding star was my neighbour.

At the time, my life was turning around work, after which I found thousands excuses not to go or to do all that I could. I was always tired, in a dull relationship, avoiding the tray of life beause or the offred event was not too interesting, or the presented acivity was too demanding, or something was too expensive, or even on some things I haven`t been present  `cause I was too cynical to admit that maybe I could have fun or learn something there.

But then one day I met my neighbour. She was in the middle of a wedding rush, preparing the big event with the guy she met 2 years ago. She was deeply in love and full of sparks. This is the guy that really suits her, she said, and she is happy as she can be! Oh she is having so much fun! They are constantly mingling around, going on theatre shows, movie shows, concerts, exhibits, lunches, dinners, parties, dancing clubs, at least once a week they are going on short trips in the area, they are taking romantic walks every single day no matter how`s the weather… And she loves it!

I was happy for her. I really was.

But some other thing bothered me – she made me feel stupid, lazy, limited, arogant and God knows what more!

Why? Because she was 77, that`s why!!!

Can you imaggine it? I, in my peak, was drowning in almost complete lack of activities, chronical discontent, picky to the highest level and always with a ready excuse why I won`t do something or go somewhere. Almost nothing was „my thing“.

Oh yes, we were „engaged“ too, but with work and those pityful goings out every weekend to our usual club (pour respectable amount of alcohol in urself and suffer the next day), 2 or 2 drinks after or coffee after work, or with spending the evening in front of tv. Ain`t life great? Aaaaaah!

And they, in their late 70s, both with the advancing arthritis, heart problems, and all those „lovely“ gifts given to them sincerly by their age, THEY were running around like 2 kids, with their eyes wide open and a smile on their faces, enjoying every sound, taste, sight, wondering around on every meadow they saw and steping in every fresh river they could.

And me… I was… I realized I was hopeless like a Somalian trading policy!

Boring?!? What is „boring“? Complete lazyness, that`s what it is! A total and shameful resistance to every idea, change or activity!

They were not old, I was!!!

I was the senior citizien, not them, I was completly and comprehensively geriatrisited!

I had two choices: or to wait the retirement, hoping to be as vivid as she is, or to move my lazy selfish ass and start living as I should.

I chosed the second solution. After all, who knows what will happen in another 40-50 years..

`Cause this today`s pensioners are not like they used to be. They are some ****** competition!

